Food & Football: Week 1 2016 The U vs FAMU

My Beloved Osito,

It’s the most wonderful time of the year again, leaves are starting to change colors, the temperature is starting to drop (not really, in Houston, Tx it’s still 90+ degrees), and most importantly it’s college football season and more specifically Miami Hurricanes’ football season.  As you get older you will quickly realize that this is also the time of year that my adventures in the kitchen and out on the grill peak.  Every Saturday (sometimes Thursday’s depending on game schedules) each adventure is centered on the team The U will be facing that week. I’m sure I’m not the originator of this idea, but I have made it my own.  The idea is that we get to “feast” on the opponent while we watch The U “feast” on them on the field.  The first time we started this was in 2013 at our tailgate for U of Florida game with your Godfather, his first time UM game. I grilled alligator tail that day, the other (other) white meat, and we watched the “upset” of #12 ranked UF.  Fast forward to 2016, the kickoff of the Coach Mark Richt era (I grew up with him when he coached the “home” team UGA for 15 the past years) and hopefully the start of the next 30 for 30 “The U: Part 3 The Dynasty Returns”.  You missed this game since kickoff was at 5ct and you were already in bed after we went to the #15 U of Houston vs. #3 U of Oklahoma game. This is another story in itself. On this day, The U faced the Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FAMU) Rattlers. I know what you’re thinking, “dad did you grill snake meat?” Well no, but it wasn’t for lack of trying. I found a place online (http://www.exoticmeatmarkets.com/rasnme.html) that sold Eastern Diamondback rattlesnake meat, but for 3 pounds at $299, I had to rethink my priorities. I ended up going the “cupcake” route. The term “cupcake” is used to describe a team that is knowingly inferior and not at the same talent level by design as its opponent. In college football, this is a team from the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS). Basically, big football programs pay these FCS schools millions of dollars to play them as a “warmup game”.  For this game, I had to call your grandmama to get her homemade red velvet cake recipe to use for my cupcakes. The recipe was oddly simple except for 2 secret ingredients that I was told to keep under lock and key. You’ve never seen secrecy until you ask an old schooler her cake recipe. It’s under tighter security than the Secretary of State’s Benghazi emails (you’ll have to google that).  Naturally, as with all recipes, I made my own tweaks for game purposes like using green food coloring for the cake instead of red, and adding yellow and red food coloring to the cream cheese frosting to get orange for the FAMU team colors.  I also injected the cupcakes with melted white chocolate to ensure they were moist.  I only ate like 2 since it would counter my efforts of getting a 6 pack of abs before I turn 30, and then I took the rest to church.  Overall I’ll give them a 6.5, but as your mom said “they just weren’t [grandmama’s]”.  Oh by the way, we won 70-3. Next game is against the Florida Atlantic University Owls. I’ll have to check the exotic meat market to see if Owl meat is even legal to consume, yikes!

Ingredients and Directions:

  1. Beat 2 eggs, 1.5 cups oil, 1.5 cups sugar, and 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  2. Mix 2.5 cups all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 2 tablespoons of *******
  3. Add step 2 to step 1 with 1 cup buttermilk (gradually)
  4. Add 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1 bottle of desired food coloring and 3-5 *********
  5. Pre-heat oven to 350 and cake: grease and flour pan: fill cups 2/3
  6. Cook 15-20 min (varies per oven) or until done. Use toothpick to check
  7. Frosting: mix 8 ounces (1 pack) cream cheese and 4 ounces (1 stick) real butter
    1. Add 1 box powdered sugar until desired consistency
    2. Add 1 cup pecans; (don’t add if you’re still allergic to nuts)

img_4704Love you to “Infinity…and Beyond”

@Outer_space_dad

Author: outer_space_dad

I'm an average, hardworking dad trying to change the perception of dads not only in the African American community, but everywhere. As a new dad, my son gave my inner child life again. As I reminisce on my own childhood, this blog will illustrate elements from my past that will define my sons’ childhood.

2 thoughts on “Food & Football: Week 1 2016 The U vs FAMU”

  1. Next time Gaby and I visit, I’m making sure it football season. Can’t believe you actually looked up the price of rattlesnake haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

