Food & Football Week 5 2016: The U vs Ga Tech

My Beloved Osito,

It’s week 5 of the college football season and we are back in action after a week 4 “bye”; The U on the field and me in the kitchen.  The ‘bye week’ was much-needed heading into a tough slate in October and we made the most of it.  You and mom entertained my quest to find the best pancakes in Houston.  Despite many efforts, pancakes have contiparknuously been my Achilles heel.  (Side Note: Achilles is a good lesson in Greek mythology.  Knowing your weakness can be a great strength.)  We went to a place called Buffalo Grille (https://www.yelp.com/biz/the-buffalo-grille-houston) which had really good pancakes and, the icing on the cake, the place was BYOB.  Granted, I didn’t know that going in so I wasn’t prepared, but I know where we are taking my Brother P next time he is in town.  Then, to tire you out, we went to the beautiful Hermann Park.  You were not a fan of the
scenery because despite the lake, trails, wildlife, hills and fountains, you found joy in climbing up and down 2 sets of stairs.

The U used the ‘bye week’ to get healthy and prepare for the Georgia Institute of Technology (Ga Tech) Yellow Jackets’ painful to watch, lull you to sleep, triple option offense.  You would think being born and raised in Georgia; I would have a soft spot for Ga Tech, but nope.  I was born in Dawg country (UGA) and to add fuel to the fire, my high school’s mascot is the “Dawgs” and our rival is, [couldn’t make this up] the Yellow Jackets.  So, I always had an animosity towards “Yellow Jackets” of any kind in sports and in nature.  As you can imagine, determining a game day meal was a bit of challenge given the “bee” mascot, and their official mascot being the “Ramblin’ Wreck”, (a 1930’s ford Model A coup).  I was at a culinary impasse late into the week until your Uncle S suggested I use something with honey.  That was the inspiration I needed and quickly concluded to make a grilled honey glazed pork loin.  To go with the loin, (since apples go so well with pork), I made a grilled apple coleslaw.  The extra week of planning seemed to work for me and The U.   On the shoulder of the defense, with two “scoop and scores” in the span of about 60 seconds, The U came away with a victory and I had a well-executed pork taco.  The final score of the game was 35 – 21 and the food rating was a solid 8.5 out 10.  Next week is rivalry week when the Florida State University Seminoles head to South Florida.

tacos

Ingredients:

Porkpork-loin

  1. Take clean pork loin and carefully remove silver skin and excess fat and then slice down the middle to form a valley.
  2. Coat in honey and season with Cajun Seasoning (as always if it isn’t Tony Chachere’s don’t trust it), garlic, black pepper, Adobo and a little Italian salad dressing. Preferably let ma
    rinate at least 24 hours.
  3. Build fire for indirect heat cooking like in Week 3 2016. Place loin on grate with pan that you marinated it in underneath to catch drippings.
  4. Rotate every ~10-15 minutes depending on grill temp. You should reach an internal temperature of ~160 degrees. When it is almost ready coat in honey and finish the cooking process for about 5 minutes.
    apples

Coleslaw

  1. Take a bag of shredded cabbage and add a quarter of sliced red onions (this will give the crunchy textures).
  2. Take an apple and slice. Coat the slices in olive oil and place on the grill for 2-3 minutes on each side. Remove and either cut into slices or chunks and add to the cabbage mixture.
  3. Take 5-6 sweet peepers (all colors) and roast on the grill ~4 minutes each side and then slice into the mixture. This will add another sweet and color componenroasted-bell-peppers-on-grill-640x480t.
  4. Take the mixture and add a tablespoon of mayonnaise and Chobani Greek yogurt (thanks to your mom, this is my healthy, go-to, sour cream substitute).
  5. Also add lime juice and a few dashes of soy sauce and mix thoroughly.

 

Love you to “Infinity…and Beyond”

@Outer_space_dad

 

Author: outerspacedad

I'm an average, hard working dad trying to change the perception of dads not only in the African American community, but everywhere. As a new dad, my son gave my inner child life again. As I reminisce on my own childhood, this blog will illustrate elements from my past that will define my sons childhood.

Leave a Reply

