Food & Football Week 8 2016: The U vs VT

img_4966

My Beloved Osito,

Following a week that brought great food and hard to swallow football, we turn the focus to week 8 and the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech aka VT) Hokies.  Back in the day, during my peak video game playing days, VT was my favorite team to play with in NCAA football.  The primary reason was for something I like to call the “Michael Vick effect”.  He was a dynamic QB that could run and throw with accuracy and strength and make plays like no other before him.  Then, the icing on the cake, the home team, Atlanta Falcons, drafted him as the #1 overall pick in 2001 and he became a “thrill ride” in the NFL (https://vimeo.com/41592148).  His career was derailed due to an ill-fated dog fighting incident.  The NFL’s response was harsh in my opinion given that players charged with crimes against humans like manslaughter, domestic violence and assault were punished less (http://www.espn.com/nfl/news/story?id=2990157), but wrong is wrong.  While he did come back to the NFL, things were never the same.  My apologies for another tangent, but The U’s play on the field hasn’t been something I’ve been eager to talk about lately.

This week’s game is unique in that it was played on Thursday night instead of Saturday.  I’m not a huge fan of Thursday games because work always “gets in the way” of meal prep and without a ‘bye week’ prior, I and The U had only 4 days instead 6 to get ready for game day.  For Tmascothe U, the shortened week seemed to take a huge toll as players were not physically ready with a lot of them out with injuries.  Me on the other hand, I opted for a meal that I will admittedly say lacked creativity centered on VT’s ‘Turkey like’ mascot the
“Hokie Bird”.  The U ended the second half with a manageable 9 – 16 deficit and my manageable meal was stuffed chicken breast.  The wheels fell off in the second half for The U and the final score ended up being a disheartening 37 -16 loss.  The stuffed chicken, while really delicious (assumption I made from your eagerness to have some more) I rated it a 5 out of 10, for a lack of originality.

Ingredients:

  1. Take clean chicken breasts and cut a horizontal slit into it
  2. Season the chicken breast with Cajun, Adobo, dried parsley, and Italian salad dressing. Place in refrigerator to marinate 
  3. Sauté in olive oil. Add a pack of spinach, 5-6 oz., a quarter of a diced onion, and a
    tablespoon of garlic
  4. Open the chicken breast and insert a slice of mozzarella cheese. Add a spoonful of the spinach mixture and close the chicken breast
  5. Place on the grill until done (internal temp 160 degrees). Be careful flipping the chicken on the grill as the stuffing can fall out. If necessary, use cooking ties

final

Love you to “Infinity…and Beyond”

@Outer_space_dad

Author: outerspacedad

I'm an average, hard working dad trying to change the perception of dads not only in the African American community, but everywhere. As a new dad, my son gave my inner child life again. As I reminisce on my own childhood, this blog will illustrate elements from my past that will define my sons childhood.

Leave a Reply

