Food & Football Week 9 2016: The U vs Notre Dame

My Beloved Osito,

Week 9 is finally here and with it brings the opportunity to snap a 3 game losing streak.  The team traveled to South Bend, Indiana this week to face the Notre Dame (ND) Fighting Irish.  There is a long history between The U and ND with its peak in the late 1980s.  While it may be enjoyable to take a look at the history of these teams facing off, especially with classics like 3rd down and 34 play (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gw1zUKJVEw8), I am not going to touch on that this year.  While the current state of each program, ND (2-5) and The U (4-3), doesn’t make for a nationally captivating game has a little to do with it, the main reason I am not talking about the history is because this game was the chosen one that fell on Halloween weekend.  While we don’t “celebrate” Halloween and I don’t take joy out of being scared or spreading fear (I will get into this on a later post), I do enjoy…ok fine, I am downplaying how much I actually LOOOOOVE devising humorous and clever costumes.  This week we temporarily put Gameday on hold, well on DVR, and went on a infamous “Hutchins’ Weekend Adventure” to Boo at the Zoo here in Houston.  Given this was the first time I had to explore the family costume spectrum, it took me some time to come up with an idea.  It also took some back and forth with your Mami because some of my ideas were immediately rejected since she was pregnant with your li
ttle brother and her bump was evident.  We settled on characters familyfrom the classic video game Super Mario Brothers.  There was a lot of juggling of which characters to choose and who should be who, but I think it came out well.
The zoo, in my opinion, was O.K. We got there a little after kickoff, 1:30CT, which meant it was hot outside (I know, it’s October…but we’re in Houston, so yea…) and all the animals were napping and hiding in the shade. Despite the fact none of the cool (ha I wasn’t even trying) animals were out, you enjoyed running around.

yoshi

Let’s not forget that there was food and football this weekend.  I knew the outcome of the game since Brother P and A were texting me about it, but I still watched it with the luxury of fast forwarding.  For the game meal, I took an Irish bar staple and made Guinness Beer Battered Fish and Chips.  The game was a roller-coaster starting with The U not being able to do anything and ND doing everything they wanted on offense and defense, leading to a 20-0 deficit.  The game did turnaround, however, and the free fall of the coaster started as The U scored 27 unanswered points to take a 4th quarter lead.  That excitement came to a sudden halt as The U had the opportunity to recover a ND fumble with 2 minutes left with the game tied, but was unable to secure it.  The fish and chips were also a roller coaster ride of their own given I was using one of Mami’s “spur of the moment pregnancy purchases.” In the early weeks of being pregnant with your brother, when cravings and emotions are all over the place, she got sucked in by an infomercial for an Air Fryer and bought it instantly. So I used said fryer to cook the fries, and on top of that it was my first shot at beer battered fish.  The game ended with a score of 27-30 on a sack after ND hit a go-ahead field goal with 30 seconds left.  The air fryer “Chips” turned out amazingly and the fish was good as well.  However, I am not a fan of all the crust the beer batter creates.  I am more of a traditional flour and cornmeal kinda guy.  Overall, I gave the meal a 7 out 10 with the fries doing most of the heavy lifting.  Next week, The U is back home to face the Pittsburgh Panthers.

Ingredients:

Fish:

  1. Take a cleaned Cod fillet and cut it into manageable piecesraw
  2. Coat in olive oil and season with pepper, cajun and Italian salad dressing and marinate
  3. Batter: In a bowl, mix a Guinness Beer, egg and 1 teaspoon of baking soda
    1. Slowly add flour until it is a thickens to the point it can stick on a wooden spoon
    2. Season the batter with all-purpose seasoning and dried parsley
  4. Preheat pan fryer with corn oil and heat to ~345 degrees
  5. Coat fish in the batter and place in the oil carefully
    1. Cook ~4/6 minutes until golden brown and flip and repeat or until done

Chips:

  1. Take 2 large potatoes and peel them and cut them into your desired French Fry size
  2. Rinse them and lightly coat in olive oil. Season with cajun, dried parsley and Adoboraw-fries
  3. Place in the air fryer, ensure you set the temp to 350 degrees and cook for ~12 minutes
    1. Pull the pan out of the fryer and toss fries to ensure they cook evenly
    2. Place back in the fryer and cook additional ~12 minutes or until desired crispiness

Cocktail Sauce

  1. In a small bowl, mix together, ketchup, worcestershire sauce and horseradish sauce (add more to make it spicy)
  2. Never, ever, forget the tartar sauce for Mami

final

Love you to “Infinity…and Beyond”

@Outer_space_dad

Author: outer_space_dad

I'm an average, hardworking dad trying to change the perception of dads not only in the African American community, but everywhere. As a new dad, my son gave my inner child life again. As I reminisce on my own childhood, this blog will illustrate elements from my past that will define my sons’ childhood.

Leave a Reply

