Food & Football Week 10 2016: The U vs Pitt

My Beloved Osito,

As we turn the page to week 10 of the college football season, and the first week of November, we can only hope that the football nightmare that was the month of October is behind us.  During October, we saw The U go from 4-0 and #10 in the Associated Press and Coaches Polls with Championship dreams to sitting at 4-4 with little, to no chance, of winning the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Coastal division.  However, in life and on the football field, when things get difficult and don’t go according to plan, you have to make a decision on how you will respond.  This week, we will see how The U responds at home against the Pittsburgh (Pitt) Panthers.

For us, the month of November brings back a sense of normalcy and calm.  This was the first Saturday since September that I didn’t leave home to help with our church’s Pumpkin Patch or ensure everything for the Fall Festival was going as planned.  We (you and I) spent this relaxing morning prepping the game meal as Mami got a much needed break to leave home and treat herself.

kaden-helper

The gamemascot meal for this week was derived in a sort of roundabout way. Let me explain.  As I mentioned earlier, the mascot for Pitt is the Panthers, so that was an automatic dead end given we don’t eat cats and I am 70% sure it’s illegal to hunt cats.  So that left me with the city, Pittsburgh, in the state of Pennsylvania (PA).  PA’s capital is Philadelphia (aka Philly) and if you ask anybody what food they think of when they hear Philly, about 8.5 out of 10 will say Philly cheese steak.  So that was the plan.

The game was very refreshing as the offense was able to move the ball on the first drive to score a TD.  However, on the ensuing kickoff, Pitt returned it to tie the game and I just knew The U was in for a fight.  Like the offense, I wanted something refreshing and instead of doing a traditional Philly cheese steak sandwich, I decided on loaded Philly cheese steak fries.  I mean after the success of the air fryer in week 9 I had to put the fryer back in the game.

Much to my surprise, given the previous 4 games, The U settled in after the Pitt TD and took control of the game.  On the field, the game was full of highlights from every position as The U coasted to a 51-21 victory and maintained a winning record.  The loaded fries were also good, but I left plenty of room for improvement.  My lack of execution caused the meal to suffer.  The main mistake was not setting the air fryer to 400 degrees causing the fries to take forever to cook and become soggy.  The next issue was the cheese.  While a traditional Philly cheese steak uses provolone or cheddar cheese, which I did, I should have made a cheese sauce because the meal was dry in my opinion.  However, the ribeye was cooked amazingly and kept the rating at a decent 6 out 10.  Next week’s match up will be against the Virginia Cavaliers.

Ingredients
Steak:
1. Take two ribeye steaks and flatten with a meat tenderizer
2. Season with Dale’s steak seasoning and a dash of Cajun seasoning
3. Grill for 3-4 min on each side

cooked-steak

Veggies:
1. Slice a whole purple or white onion and a green bell pepper (mushrooms are optional)
2. Place in foil and lightly coat in olive oil and season with Cajun, Adobo and crushed garlic
3. Cook on the grill for ~10-12 min flipping halfway through the process

Fries:
1. See Food & Football Week 9 2016: The U vs Notre Dame cheese-and-fries
Note: Ensure you check the temperature before cooking

Cheese:
What I did:
1. Took slices of provolone from the deli, cut them into smaller slices, and placed them on the hot fries
2. Covered fries with the steak and veggies and then added shredded cheddar cheese

What I should have done:
1. Take a small saucepan and place on med-high and coat with butter or cooking spray
2. Add 1/4 cup of milk and sit until bubbles start form on the edges
3. Add slices/chunks of American cheese (white or yellow) and stir until thickens (season as desired)

img_5127

Love you to “Infinity…and Beyond”
@Outer_space_dad

Author: outer_space_dad

I'm an average, hardworking dad trying to change the perception of dads not only in the African American community, but everywhere. As a new dad, my son gave my inner child life again. As I reminisce on my own childhood, this blog will illustrate elements from my past that will define my sons’ childhood.

Leave a Reply

